HOW EGYPTIAN DANCE IS FOR EVERYBODY..

Not all dances are for everyone. The Egyptian dance yes.

In the West, Egyptian dance is considered an ethnic dance.

But what exactly is meant by "ethnic" dance?

This word is used to group all dances other than ballet: African, Indian, Polynesian, etc... all in a single genre as opposed to the Euro-American genre.

The West has put in the same category everything that is different from itself, when in reality, among the "ethnic" dances, we have an enormous variety of genres, origins, and functions.

Without going into the criticism of this definition, we understand that "ethnic dances" are considered all those dances that have developed by a people for: entertainment, worship or social aggregation.

When I think of classical ballet I think of court dances, a certain type of aristocratic society, the expression of a refined culture and its artistic development through complex techniques suitable exclusively for a certain type of build and age. When I think of Egyptian dance, I think of a collective cultural expression that includes all classes and that arises spontaneously. That's why it is a dance suitable for everyone: suitable for all builds, suitable for all ages.

It is clear that if I want to become a professional the trajectory will be more demanding, I will certainly have to deepen my study on a technical, interpretative, musical, cultural level ... but if I dance because dance makes me feel good, because I I like to feel my body express itself in a feminine way, I like to meet my companions and dance with them, I like Egyptian music, I like this space where I choose to be what I want and I get rid of everything that is outside ... then the dance belongs to everyone and for everyone.

Exactly as it is in its context of origin.

Scrivi commento

Commenti: 0